TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

Game of Thrones.jpeg TOP 10 BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

Top 10 Books As The Lord of the Rings

The Lord of the Rings trilogy of JRR Tolkien has become one of the most popular books of all time.Fantasy, the genre that originated after Tolkien is often characterized by imaginative worlds with wizards, elves and dragons. What are the ten best books in the style of The Lord of the Rings?

10. The Well at the World’s End

The Well at the World%E2%80%99s End - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

If you like The Lord of the Rings, it’s a good idea to read one of Tolkien’s inspirational sources. British writer William Morris wrote a book based on medieval legends in 1896. In addition, he would inspire language use throughout that period. A king has four sons who withdraw the world. Ralph, the youngest, experiences all sorts of exciting adventures. Curiously, this book was never translated into Dutch.

9. Elric or Melniboné

Elric of Melnibon%C3%A9 - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

Michael Moorcock is a British writer who wrote numerous science fiction and fantasy books. One of his most famous characters is Elric, an albino who has a powerful sword named Stormbringer as king.Moorcock uses the thoughtful hero Elric in different trilogies and comic strips. The first book of the series has been translated into Dutch as Storm over Melniboné

TOP 10 BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

8. The Eye of the World

The Eye of the World - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

In 1990, Robert Jordan wrote the first book in a series that consists of fifteen parts. The writer has always been open to the fact that the beginning of The Eye of the World is based on the Shire, the country where the Hobbits live in Tolkiens. Those who do not get enough of In the Ring of the Ring can enjoy this book, translated into Dutch as The Eye of the World.

7. The Ill-Made Mute

The Ill Made Mute - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

Australian writer Cecillia Darth Thorton is home sociologist but became known as author of Fantasy books including The Crownthistle Chronicals. In 2001 she debuted with The Ill-Made Mute, which is called The Strange Vondeling in Dutch. A stupid woman who has lost her memory is looking for a drug for poisoning that deforms her face. On her journey she meets the knight Thorn where she hopelessly falls in love. The Strange Seduction is the first part of the Bitterbynde trilogy.

6. The Magicians

the magicians - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

The Magicians of Lev Gossman are part of a recent trilogy that combines a number of famous Fantasy elements in an original way. The Magician’s main character is a clever but selfish boy who loves Fantasy books from his childhood. One day, this Quentin is invited to attend a secret wizard school in New York.A dream seems to come true, but the magic and adventures that belong here fall heavier than Quentin thought. From 2016, a series has been made based on the book.

5. Eragon

Eragon - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

Eragon of Christopher Paolini is the first part of the series Het Erfgoed. The title hero is a young individualist who loves to chase in the mountains of the fantasy world Alagaesia. One day, Eragon is upset by an explosion. He then finds in the crater a blue stone that turns out to be a dragon egg. In secret, he draws the dragon named Saphira. Then Eragon gets a visit from the evil Ra’zac and begins an exceptional adventure, unexpectedly receiving help.

4. A Wizard of Earthsea

A Wizard of Earthsea - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

The American science fiction writer Ursula K. Le Guin has been writing more and more fantasy books that have proved to be very influential during her career. Her first step in the genre, Machts of Aardzee, would become a cycle of two trilogies. When misuse in her books is misused, this balances the natural order. The young Ged seems born to become a sorcerer, but during his education some people wonder if he is not malicious.

TOP 10 BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

3. Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

Game of Thrones is nowadays known as an extremely popular television series. The American writer George RR Martin started a 1996 cycle called Ice and Fire Song, which was received by Fantasy enthusiasts very positively. In the first part, The Game of Thrones, Martin builds an impressive world that is subject to taxation to Tolkien. The book follows the political twinkle around seven kingdoms, with magic always present in the background. The Game of Thrones is very exciting and much more violent than most fantasy. Since the success of the television series, Martin has to finish the rest of his announced books in the cycle at high speed.

2. The Color of Magic

The Colour of Magi - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

In 1983, British writer Terry Prachett began a very ambitious project called Discworld (Discworld). Until his death, he wrote forty books on this flat world worn by four elephants, which in turn are on a huge tortoise. The Discworld is populated by people and mythical beings such as wizards, trolls and gods. Of course magic plays a big role. The first part The Color of Toverij is largely a press release on the Fantasy genre in which the cynical wizard Rinzwind is introduced. Well-known creatures from Tolkien’s work as big spiders, talking trees and dragons are also waiting for them.

1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

CS Lewis was a good friend of Tolkien and his colleague at Oxford University. Both writers had great influence on each other. Like Tolkien, Lewis would mix different legends in his famous seventh-order The Chronicles of Narnia. One of the major differences between both writers is that Lewis uses much more Christian symbolism. In 1950, the first part De Leeuw and Land in the Wardrobe was released, which would become a very popular children’s book. In this story four children are evacuated after the outbreak of World War II to the countryside. In their new home, one day they find a large wardrobe that gives access to the magical land of Narnia. Thanks to the Witte Witch’s rule in Narnia, winter has been around for a century. The children decide to free together with the lion Aslan Narnia.

TOP 10 BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

pinit fg en rect red 28 - TOP 10 FANTASY BOOKS SIMILAR TO LORD OF THE RINGS

MORE TOP 10 LISTS

MORE TOP 10 LISTS